West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide and Port Adelaide likely headed to Queensland to restart AFL season

The four clubs from South Australia and Western Australia appear likely to be in temporary hubs in Queensland as the AFL moves to finalise arrangements for returning to play.

Like West Coast and Fremantle, Port Adelaide had expressed a preference to the AFL for being based in south-east Queensland rather than Victoria.

Port Adelaide are one of four teams set for a temporary move to Queensland.Credit:Getty Images

The AFL, as of Thurday, favoured having Port and the Adelaide Crows in Queensland hubs for a period, enabling those four teams west of the Victorian border to prepare for the season and then play games from Queensland.

The immediate need to temporarily relocate South Australian players and the relevant football staff is largely about training restrictions, since the SA government has put contact training out of bounds until June 8, and those clubs would not be able to train like the other 16 clubs up until that time, unless the SA government changed its position.


Related posts

Make a comment