NRL signs off on 20-round season with broadcasters Nine and Fox Sports

The NRL has finally signed off on a 20-round season after weeks of tense negotiations with broadcast partners Nine and Fox Sports.

ARLC chairman Peter V’landys held discussions with Nine boss Hugh Marks and Foxtel chief executive Patrick Delany on Tuesday afternoon to inform them of the game’s decision to play an additional 18 rounds on top of the two rounds already played.

The Eels will play a 20-round season when the NRL returns.Credit:AAP

It means the NRL grand final will be played on October 25, a day after Australia’s opening game of the Twenty20 Cricket World Cup, scheduled to be played at the SCG.

If the cricket World Cup isn’t postponed or cancelled, it is expected the NRL will move the premiership decider to the 30,000-seat Bankwest Stadium in Parramatta.

The news of the NRL’s 20-round season confirmation comes on the eve of Wednesday’s innovation committee meeting, where the finishing touches will be put on the structure of the season.

State of Origin will be played on three consecutive weeks in November for the first time in the concept’s 40-year history.



Related posts

Make a comment