Captains predict very different fortunes for WA clubs in upcoming season

West Australian star and Carlton captain Patrick Cripps was backed by most captains (five) to win the Brownlow Medal, with Lachie Neale (four) and his former Fremantle captain, two-time winner Nat Fyfe, next favoured.

The Coleman Medal for the league’s leading goalkicker was expected to be won by Richmond’s Tom Lynch (six captain votes), with Giants stalwart Jeremy Cameron (five votes) and West Coast sharpshooter Josh Kennedy (three) considered his main rivals.

Gold Coast rookie Matt Rowell was the standout to win the AFL Rising Star for the league’s best young player, with nine of the 18 captains of the belief the Suns youngster would win the award.

AFL captain’s survey:

Which seven other clubs do you think can make this year’s top eight?
17 – West Coast Eagles, Richmond, GWS Giants
16 – Collingwood
15 – Brisbane Lions
13 – Western Bulldogs
10 – Port Adelaide
8 – Geelong Cats
5 – Melbourne
3 – St Kilda
2 – Hawthorn
1 – Essendon, North Melbourne, Sydney Swans

Which other club is most likely to reach the Grand Final?
(eight captains picked eventual premier Richmond in 2019).
7 – GWS Giants
5 – West Coast Eagles
4 – Richmond
2 – Collingwood

Who do you think will win the 2020 Brownlow Medal?
(three captains correctly nominated Nat Fyfe last year).
5 – Patrick Cripps (Carlton)
4 – Lachie Neale (Brisbane Lions)
3 – Nat Fyfe (Fremantle)
2 – Dustin Martin (Richmond), Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)
1 – Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong Cats), Stephen Coniglio (GWS Giants)

Who do you think will win the 2020 Coleman Medal?
(One captain picked Coleman Medallist Jeremy Cameron).
6 – Tom Lynch (Richmond)
5 – Jeremy Cameron (GWS Giants)
3 – Josh Kennedy (West Coast Eagles)
1 – Charlie Cameron (Brisbane Lions), Ben Brown (North Melbourne), Bayley Fritsch (Melbourne), Lance Franklin (Sydney Swans)

Who do you think will win the 2019 NAB AFL Rising Star?
(11 captains picked Ron Evans Medallist Sam Walsh).
9 – Matt Rowell (Gold Coast Suns)
2 – Tom Green (GWS Giants), Max King (St Kilda)
1 – Chayce Jones (Adelaide Crows), Caleb Serong (Fremantle), Noah Anderson (Gold Coast Suns), Luke Jackson (Melbourne), Dylan Stephens (Sydney Swans)


Related posts

Make a comment