Nathan Ephraums and Kurt Lovett are two new faces in Kookaburras squad

“Kurt had a break out season in Hockey One,” Batch said.

“He had a number of good games including in the finals and put his name forward in a way that we couldn’t ignore.”

Ephraums was named player of the tournament at the Sultan of Johor Cup in 2017 playing in Australia’s under-21 team, and has spent periods of this year training with the Kookaburras at their base in Perth.

“Nathan had some good performances in Hockey One but it is also what he has done over a period of time when he has trained with us in VAA [Visiting Athlete Agreement] opportunities, and he was also part of our build up for the Oceania Cup,” Batch said.

The majority of players that helped Australia qualify for Tokyo 2020, won the inaugural Pro League and secured the world No.2 ranking have been retained.

Tasmanian Eddie Ockenden (358 caps) is a chance of competing at a fourth Olympics and breaking Jamie Dwyer’s Kookaburras appearance record.

The final squad for the Olympics is expected to be announced in mid-June.

Kookaburras squad: Jacob Anderson, Daniel Beale, Josh Beltz, Tim Brand, Andrew Charter (gk), Tom Craig, Matthew Dawson, Johan Durst (gk), Nathan Ephraums, Kieran Govers, Jake Harvie, Jeremy Hayward, Tim Howard, Tyler Lovell (gk), Kurt Lovett, Trent Mitton, Eddie Ockenden, Flynn Ogilvie, Lachlan Sharp, Joshua Simmonds, Matthew Swann, Jack Welch, Corey Weyer, Jacob Whetton, Tom Wickham, Dylan Wotherspoon, Aran Zalewski.



Related posts

Make a comment