Henley gets ‘ton of respect’ despite costly eight-shot penalty


Eight rules officials on site conferred for about an hour and a half and even consulted the USGA before imposing a two-shot penalty for each of the four holes Henley thought he’d used the ball on.

After an opening 66, Henley’s two-under 69 on Saturday turned into a 77 and he missed the cut by two shots.

“It was a small dash, a different way [the ball] was marked that would have been easy to overlook,” Tour rules official Brad Fabel said.

“He came to us and said he didn’t know how it had gotten in his bag.”

There was no question, Henley said, that he’d used the ball.

He gives balls he’s put into play to his caddie to mark accordingly, and the Pro V1x in question was marked as such.

Henley believed he’d used it on holes 9, 10, 11 and 12, turning his four pars into double bogeys.

The mix-up ends Henley’s made cuts streak at eight, including the past four starts of last season and the first four of this season. He took the news well.

“He was great,” Fabel said. “I’ve got a ton of respect for that gentleman.”

Reuters



Sports

Related posts

Make a comment