Ray Warren, Peter Frilingos, JJ Giltinan become first contributor inductees in NRL Hall of Fame

The voice of rugby league – Ray ‘Rabbits’ Warren – is among the first ever group of contributors inducted into the NRL Hall of Fame.

Warren has been the lead rugby league caller at Nine since 1992, his voice punctuated every famous moment the game has witnessed since.

Ray Warren is widely known as the voice of rugby league.

Having already been honoured with an Order of Australia Medal and induction into the Sydney Cricket Ground Hall of Fame, Warren joins famous print journalist Peter Frilingos and JJ Giltinan – widely considered the driving force behind the establishment of the NSWRL in 1907 – as the first non-players to be inducted into the NRL Hall of Fame.

Giltinan famously spent lunch-times meeting disgruntled rugby union players in the sports store of Australian cricket icon Victor Trumper, leading to the formation of the NSWRL.


Related posts

Make a comment